Travel

Haven Zoological Park

I visited the Haven Zoological Park a little while back and thought that I would share my experience with you guys.  It is situated on the corner of Kleine Kuppe and Rietfontein Streets in the Kleine Kuppe area in Windhoek, Namibia.  This is the only zoo in Windhoek and was founded by Martin and Julie Wiese.

On arrival you get a feeding bucket from which you can feed the animals.  The zoo also houses a coffee shop, as well as a playground for children.  The first time I visited the zoo was on a school field trip when I was in Grade 11 / 12 and nothing has changed, a few new animals were added, but there were so much more animals to see when I went on my first trip.  I must admit that I was a bit disappointed by this, as I expected to see even more animals this time around.  The zoo does give off more of a farm vibe than an actual zoo, just because there are so few animals and because of the type of animals that they have.  They did however also add a mini golf course, or as we like to call it a “putt – putt” course which was exciting to see, except we couldn’t play, as we got there just before closing time.

 

These are some of the bird species that can be found at the zoo.

IMG_8897

These little fury friends were the highlight of my trip to the zoo.  The little baby rabbits just stole my heart.  On a previous trip to the zoo, my family said that they were allowed to enter the enclosure where the rabbits are, which allowed them to pet and feed the rabbits, but they have however put up a sign that does not permit you to enter the enclosure, which was super disappointing. P.S Excuse the bad quality of the picture.

 

These monkeys were just interesting to watch.  The big monkey actually has blue balls, I have no idea why this is, but it was a very interesting sight.

IMG_8895

I actually found Pumba!!

 

Overall it was actually a fun outing.  I do however hope that they do a bit of upgrading and add a few more animals to see.  Be sure to check it out if you’re looking for something fun to do with the family; kids will love it and you can play mini – golf after.

But that is it for this post…until next time.

xoxo Lilanie

Leave a comment